The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

3 Gifts White

 

IMG_5341wm

dried flowers

IMG_5346wm

hymnbook wreath- I love how the two titles happen to make a very appropriate sentence.

IMG_5352wm

distressed vanity- gifted by a dear friend from seasons past, refreshed by another dear friend in season present

 

Recently, I finished listening to One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. It’s very poetic and lovely.

(However, because I’m not much of a reader, I think that reading it might have made my brain explode with its meat and its beauty. But auditorily I could drink it in. It is read by the author too, which I love because you know you’re hearing it how the author intended it to be read).

One of my favorite quotes goes something like, “Joy and pain are but two arteries of the same heart… Is that why joy hurts so much? God stretching us out to fill us up with more of Himself?” (Disclaimer: That’s not an exact quote… I’m going off of days ago here. But I don’t think it’s a total butchering. Show me some grace. 😉 )

A very basic explanation is that the book is about using thankfulness to find joy and God’s goodness every day… in everything: even in that which doesn’t seem good. He is good.  To go along with that,there has been created a joy dare of sorts: prompts that challenge the intentional finding of joy in the everyday.

Seeing as how I hardly took any photos in the past month other than with my phone, I thought this would be a good excuse to break out the Canon. I may even make it an every Friday posting.  (This is not a commitment, simply a possibility.)

Take notice of the gifts surrounding you today. Drink them in.  Be grateful. Let joy flourish.

2 comments on “3 Gifts White

  1. Pingback: 1000 Gifts: Eaten to Eucharisteo | The NewBec

  2. stacya066
    August 2, 2014

    I love Ann Voscamp and One Thousand Gifts. Just found a “like new” copy while thrifting in Atlanta. (Why would anyone get rid of that book?!) I plan to give it to my sister. Love the hymn book wreath. Love the white. Beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
