The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Remember, I GOTCHA.


My day started with the perfect reminder from 1 John 5 that I am a child of God and the evil one cannot touch me. That doesn’t mean that bad things won’t happen in a fallen world, but it does mean that I am ultimately safe, because I am HIS. I am adopted into God’s family.

And Cheeks is OURS. 3 years ago, he legally took on the identity as being apart of our family.

This guy.

IMG_3637wm

Cheeks: “Wook mommy!” Me: “Good job! What does that say?” Cheeks: “Fwee!” I guess it is three, but I was hoping for “I love you.” 😉

 

This boy who loves pancakes.

IMG_20140522_160419_301wm

This kid who just completed his 1st year of preschool…Canaan's 1st and last days of school … and whose last day happened to be on National End of School (a.k.a. 50 cent corn dog) day.IMG_3632wm

Cheeks is ours.

 

It’s a common practice in adoption culture: the celebration of adoption, otherwise known as Gotcha Day! For some, Gotcha Day is celebrated as the day that they brought their child home. That day for us was pretty close to our son’s birthday, so we decided that we would celebrate Gotcha Day upon finalization.

Here is a repeat of my blog post from 3 years ago:

“Cheeks is legally OURS, as the judge put it, as if he were born to us. We are elated. He has been ours in our hearts from the beginning, but now he carries our last name. We are so appreciative of those whom God has so considerately placed along our path during this journey: friends and family, acquaintances, case workers, strangers, everyone. It has been a delight.
We began the day in excited mode. Then very close to our appointment with the judge, we transferred to nervous mode. We were initially told to go to the Justice Center. Then we were told that we were in the wrong place and were instructed to go to the courthouse. It really was probably only a matter of 5-10 minutes, but being that we arrived at the courthouse precisely at our appointment time due to this mix-up (and our lawyer and adoption counselor weren’t there yet), I was a tad nervous that somehow it wouldn’t happen today.
As it turns out, they were down the road at the same place where we had started initially, but we didn’t see them in person. I became nervous that whoever said they would pass along the word didn’t get a hold of them or something. But, as usual, I worried for no reason. They showed up shortly. We entered the judge’s chambers immediately upon their arrival, the lawyer did her thing, we did our thing (under solemn oath) and the judge did her thing. It was over in a blink! I didn’t ask for a picture with the judge, even though some folks have said that doing so is very treasured to them… had she offered, I would have said yes, but… I don’t know. She was very sweet and all, but I wasn’t “attached” to her… it’s hard to get attached in such a short period of time. We did however get pics with our adoption counselor and our lawyer (such sweethearts), but I won’t post those as I didn’t ask them permission to do so. I will however share pics of our OFFICIAL family!
Even though we didn’t finalize in general session in front of the bench (we did so privately in the judge’s chambers), our lawyer took us in the courtroom while it was recessed so we could take a pic in front of the bench with the flags and the seal. I’ve never seen so many lawyers ooing, aahing and making raspberry noises at one time. (Thankfully, they were directing their antics toward Cheeks 😉
 
This pic is cropped from the photo that we had taken with our counselor and our lawyer, but I thought that J was too sweet not to share.

We celebrated afterward with brunch at Cracker Barrel. The waitress made J’s cherry pancakes special 🙂

We are so blessed with how God designed our family. There are no words. I’m glad He knows my heart.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
