The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

The Run-Around

It’s that time of year when the run-around of extra-curriculars is in full swing. I actually look forward to the scheduled activity. I am not a home-body & I enjoy having things to do (providing my body cooperates). Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the rest when it comes. But I enjoy the busies as well.

Creating healthy margin can be a challenge for any family these days, & this is especially true for families in ministry. The amount of activity appropriate for one person or family to maintain balance, and where that activity is directed, can vary GREATLY.

(I’d like to get on my soap box for just a moment: involvement in nearly every “extra” under the sun does not necessarily equal deprivation of quality time and nurturing. Likewise, participation in minimal “extras” does not necessarily equal deprivation of enrichment and growth opportunities. That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t evaluate our choices in light of scripture and the Holy Spirit’s leading, but Let’s end the mommy wars, ok?)

ANYWAY…

We took a season off of soccer in the spring. Primarily, that was my decision. To quote Bilbo Baggins, I felt  “thin, sort of stretched, like butter scraped over too much bread.” (-J.R.R. Tolkien) I just needed the breather.

Now, school has been back in session for over a month for J, Cheeks is loving preschool 2 days a week, we have church commitments 3 nights a week, J has art club once every other week, & soccer practice has resumed weekly, as well as games. (The Rev is just assisting this season rather than coaching.)IMG_8659wm

Although we have taken violin out of the mix for now (a 30 min, once a week commitment), we have added something else to the mix that I am both excited and a smidgen nervous about: swim club. Swim Club occupies A LOT more time: an hour, twice a week. So I’m interested to see how that goes. I’m praying that it is positive. Swimming is both great exercise and an important skill. Those are bonuses. Truth be told, my primary interest in the activity has to do with helping  J sleep better. Much like her mother (although not nearly as severe), J struggles in the sleep department. Yet somehow, she seems to have an endless supply of energy. (Unfortunately, even while the energy seemingly remains in tact, lack of sleep breeds over-emotionalism.) Although lack of exercise isn’t an issue for her (and exercising more doesn’t really help me with MY issues), I’m hoping that the extra activity will wear her out enough to be of some benefit to her sleep and not a hindrance to her waking hours. Amazingly, her scheduled practice times don’t interfere with any of our other commitments thus far. *happy dance*

J spent the majority of her first practice under the water when it wasn’t her turn. It’s amazing how much more fun goggles that don’t leak can be. Sometimes you get what you pay for. (Although I’m not sure this under-water fun was very beneficial to her listening-to-the-instructor skills).

1238377_10152167453184619_1800791133_n

Meanwhile, this little stud will be cheering her on from the sidelines, while wishing he could be right in the middle of it all:

IMG_8613wm

One comment on “The Run-Around

  1. Janice C. Johnson
    September 6, 2013

    To each his own run-around! Yay for adjusting as you go!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
