The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Facing the First Day of 3rd Grade

IMG_8152 2013wm

Yup, that’s right. It’s the first day of 3rd grade for my beautiful little 7 year old, J.  You know what that means: photo flood!

Sometimes I feel guilty that I am not your typical mom when it comes to milestones. (But let’s be honest… I’m hardly your “typical” anything).  I’m not a crier in the matter, and I don’t feel as though I just want my kids to stay my babies forever. In fact, I thank God almost daily that they are NOT babies anymore. I am really excited for where God has them now and I can’t wait to see it all pan out. I am still in AWE of how much they have grown and how quickly things have changed, but so far I just don’t have that typical mommy sadness. (I’m waiting for it to all come back and hit me like a ton of bricks one day. But until then, I assure you that even though I’m not crying on the first day of school, I do so very much love my children).

But let’s be honest: after reading the title, you didn’t come here to read. You came here to look at pictures. Onward!

Initially, it was raining.  So we thought we were going to have to settle for indoor pictures.

IMG_8142 2013wm IMG_8140 2013wm

It stopped raining and after a quick change to rain boots we were able to get the one mandatory photo of the first day: the pic by the Narnia light. (I really should consider landscaping the area seeing as I use it for mandatory milestone pictures. Our lawn mowing person has been out of town.)

IMG_8145 2013wm

Next there is the semi-mandatory tree picture:

IMG_8148 2013wm

And then there’s whatever else happens.IMG_8168 2013wm silly facesYou should have seen the great pains it took to get J NOT to smile. She kept on laughing. But I wanted to include this pic because this is the pic in which I can actually see *some* resemblance to me. Typically she looks just like the Rev. Yes my child, they did cut you out of MY stomach. If you can’t see the resemblance, I promise I won’t hate you much.

IMG_8155 2013wm

bb11

This is a younger picture of me, but you get the idea. Beware the bangs, y’all.

Now for the obligatory this year/last year comparison picture:

2013-2012 1st day comparison

I’ll be honest… I’ve gotten just a smidgen of the home-school bug lately. I don’t typically get the baby-bug, but I get the home-school bug. Back-to-school time always does that to me. (For those of you who don’t know, we home-schooled J in kindy. Also, I do have a teaching degree… which I don’t ever plan on using in public school again. That aspect is not for me). Then I have a rough neuro day and I thank the Lord profusely for the opportunity to send her off to public school. Truthfully, I LOVE J’s school. So far we have been thrilled with her teachers, her friends, the experience as a whole, and we are so grateful that God has placed her where he has.

Here’s to a year of expecting big and wonderful things from you, J! We are so proud of the person you are and who Christ in you is becoming.

2 comments on “Facing the First Day of 3rd Grade

  1. Pingback: 1st Day of Pre-School: Cheeks edition | The NewBec

  2. Forgetfulone
    August 3, 2013

    Cute pictures.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
