The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Factofrolifroroshifarmiver

It’s almost as wonderful as SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS only beginning with an “F”.

(I almost entitled this “5 F words”. Then I realized what I had typed. It’s not so terrible as an after-the-fact mention of almost-oops, but it would have been an embarressing title for a couple of reasons. Evidently my love of alliteration surpasses both my tactful speech and simple math skills.)

FACTOry:

Before school was out for the summer, J asked me if she could take a cooking class. I have absolutely no idea what made her think of that, but I agreed to look into it. Thanks to ye ol’ internet, I was able to find some kids’ culinary classes in Grandma’s neck of the woods at the Viking store in what was once an old factory.

946841_10152016543829619_1269586815_n 1045029_10152016483599619_1828710508_n

For her Asian Invasion class, J made: Sesame Noodles with Chicken and Broccoli, Crispy Spring Rolls, Bulgogi (Korean barbecue) in Lettuce Cups, Roasted Edamame with Sea Salt and Lemon

1044282_10152013254654619_22155249_n

The Pizza Party menu included: Quick Rising Pizza Dough, Homemade Pizza with Assorted Toppings, Cheesy Breakfast Pizza, Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza

1003672_10152021034779619_592212708_n

FROLIc

946213_10152016495354619_1528852671_n 1004056_10152016684679619_571710394_n

FRO

We banded Cheeks’ hair to stretch it out for Fros on the 4th! Oh my goodness, I just can’t take his cuteness.

IMG_7941 IMG_7972wm

Cheeks typically wears his hair free more often than not, but after the big fro I thought it would be a good idea to put it in a protective style for awhile, especially for the back that hardly grows. The result is far from perfect, but we had a milestone moment in that he actually sat still for the whole process.

hairstill

feROCIOUs

(When did my oldest child become all legs?)

IMG_8015wm

FARt

This just cracked me up. J was working on her Summer Bridge workbook (at her super-fun old desk that I’m way excited about). She said to me, “The instructions say to make as many other words as you can out of the words listed below… I’ve made other words, but I’m scared to write the word ‘FART’.

IMG_8030wm

chick-fIL-a

After the kids had caught a cold and were improving, I came down with it. Cow Appreciation Day was on my miserable feeling day… (the colds really weren’t that terrible aside from a day or two). It was one of those things where I had been in bed all day because I didn’t feel well but at the same time I just felt like I needed to get ONE THING done. Creating a family of cows with the kids out of some markers and poster board won out over laundry. That was my one task for the day. In a way it was like providing them with dinner (since Chick-Fil-A gives out a free meal to those dressed up as cows on said day).  Eating trumps clean clothes in my book  🙂

eat mor chikin

feVER

Cheeks, who is prone to lung crud every month, seemed to be almost out of the woods with the cold. But then his chest became re-congested and he came down with a mild fever and pink eye (which was cleared up quickly by my hippie doTerra essential oils. That sure beats spending the $80 on the prescription pink eye meds + copay like last time. Hooray for homeopathic remedies. I’m addicted to my oils).

Precious baby.

IMG_20130716_165102_689

Sweet dreams, everyone! Have a factofrolifroroshifarmiver night!

4 comments on “Factofrolifroroshifarmiver

  1. Joyce and Norm
    July 20, 2013

    Fun minus the lung crud. The cooking class looks like fun! I might have to take one. :p

  2. Renee @Doorkeeper
    July 19, 2013

    What lovely pics of your sweet family! Thanks for sharing the fun. Hope your little one heals quickly. Thanks for visiting me at Doorkeeper. Blessings!

  3. Jan
    July 19, 2013

    Hi, Bec! Cheeks is growing so big AND cute… and your beautiful J can come cook for me any time. FUN post! (Visiting from Company Girls)

    • thenewbec
      July 19, 2013

      Right? I’m hoping she’ll continue her desire to cook so that it will become really useful to me… for now, she can make you a peanut butter and banana sandwich. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
