The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Landmarks

A couple of weekends ago, the weather was BEAUTIFUL with highs in the low-mid 70’s. Thanks to our taking a season off of sports, we didn’t have anywhere that we had to be. As much as we try to create margin for family time, we could still stand to improve at it. Such an opportune situation doesn’t arise very often. Thus we decided to make an impromptu family fun trip to the zoo:

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

It was an all around good family day.  But I had a “moment”… one of those heart swelling moments when you encounter a landmark that was important to your life. It didn’t even cross my mind until I hoisted the kids up on this wall to take their picture. ImageImage

My mind spun like the carousel behind me as it warp-sped in reverse into flashback mode. A little over 2.5 years ago, this picture was taken on that same wall .

.

J and I had taken an outing to the zoo with Giz & Poppa, blissfully unaware of the pivotal point which we were approaching. This was the last outing that we took as a family with an only-child. Just a couple of days later, I received the phone call that informed us about our weeks old baby boy. A week later, he was home.

Who knew that utilizing a photo-op on a wall at the zoo would send my mind flooding back to landmark moments and fill my heart with such gratitude. I am thankful for how the Lord orders our steps and has expanded our family. What a joy.

It just goes to show you, you never know what the future holds. Amidst your seemingly never-ending trial, you may be moments away from one of the greatest blessings of your life. You may look back at this very time as a landmark that signifies a special season.  Enjoy the moment. Keep hope alive!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
