The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Kitchen Before & After (Finally)

Ok, ok. So the kitchen has been “mostly done” for months. The Rev & my FIL got the crown molding up before Christmas. We still have yet to do the tad bit left of sanding on the half-wall and some touch-up painting. However, I don’t know how long it will be before we actually get around to it. So although it KILLS my type-A to post these as “official” before and after pics, you can hardly see what still needs to be done in the pics. My desire to not allow the remodel photos to be left undone any longer trumps my desire for accuracy.

So without further adieu, here are the before & after kitchen remodeling photos:

The following pic exemplifies the biggest visible transformation of our kitchen gutting experience: the moving of the refrigerator & dishwasher to new locations so that I have a long, workable counter space, AND the knocking down of part of a wall and adding a bar-height counter!

Image

ImageImage

 

Image

 

The irony of the photos of this microwave is that just after taking these pics this morning, I realized that the microwave wasn’t working. *hmmph*.

It behaves as though it is working, but it isn’t heating anything up.  The microwave was manufactured in May, purchased in July, & only been used since October. To make matters much more interesting, when I went to my folder full of kitchen remodeling receipts pridefully exclaiming “I know EXACTLY where the receipt is”, the microwave receipt was nowhere to be found. Fortunately I was able to come up with my purchase order online and the folks with whom I spoke from both lowes.com & Maytag were very friendly and helpful. Lord willing it *should* be repaired this week.

Also fortunately, one of our college students was visiting before heading back to school when I made this discovery. And she brought nail polish. This means that I was forced to sit still and breathe and not work on anything for awhile (at least until the nail polish dried).  Never under-estimate the ministry of nail-polish, ya’ll.

5 comments on “Kitchen Before & After (Finally)

  1. Pingback: Give Us Rest | The NewBec

  2. Amber H
    January 22, 2013

    I can’t believe those are the same kitchen. It looks AMAZING. This is a magazine worthy before/after!

  3. PatriciaCHolder@yahoo.com
    January 19, 2013

    Really a nice before and after project! We are on the same page. I have been busy for a long period of time restoring a house in Natchez and also some work on a house in a beach area. There is something about restoration work,paint!, that really brings the place alive. I love the white.

  4. rachelanneridge
    January 19, 2013

    OOH! I love the before and after!!! Wow, what a difference. (And I must say, that canvas print on the wall just MAKES the room!) It looks clean and fresh, modern and inviting….well done! You deserve the manicure, my friend!!

    • thenewbec
      January 19, 2013

      Thank you! The whole thing really brightens my attitude, ESPECIALLY the canvas print! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
