The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Bahama Mama turns 30

Thanks to my amazing husband and some fantastic friends, last week I was forced to…
(wait for it)…
RELAX. *gasp*

Let’s not forget the grandparents who babysat since the Rev was out of state (officiating a wedding and finishing his LAST course for his Master’s degree. Can I get an Amen?!) I’m so thankful that J gets 2 weeks for fall break. That means we still get to spend this week together doing things like making home-made pumpkin pies.

The kids got to do things like Cheekwood and Touch-A-Truck with Giz & Poppa.  

By the grace of God my friends and I were able to secure some cruise tickets for almost as cheap as dirt. I’ll admit I had some apprehensions. In the past few years I have become very prone to motion sickness. I am also very chemically sensitive so this means that taking anti-nausea medicine could backfire. I didn’t want to be a burden to my friends if I should have narcoleptic struggles. And my daughter got sick a few days before we left.
Fortunately, J was fever-free for 24 hours before the big bon-voyage, I never became nauseous, and although the anti-motion-sickness meds did have some ill-effects on me, I could deal with them. Do you know what happens when you are overcome with a narcoleptic moment on a cruise? Well if you don’t have any kidlets to be responsible for, you just lay out on some super-comfy loungers on Serenity deck! I can handle this whole cruisin’ thing.

It was such a wonderful time of fellowship and fun. I’ll be honest: I’m not much of a “women’s event” type person. Growing up I hung out with guys more than girls. Drama-free in Tennessee. That’s my motto. 😉 I am very blessed that God has provided me with a friend group of lovely ladies with whom I could enjoy spending a week with and never feel as though I was “over it”. Truly precious, godly women they are.  Plus there is a little smidge of crazy, which always makes things more fun.

😉 

Fortunately we clean up alright. 

My friend and I were celebrating our 30th birthdays.

As is par for the course with my baby-face, I had to explain to the waitress that I was THIRTY and not THIRTEEN.  Here I am specifying THREE-ZERO. 

True story.

My favorite port in the Bahamas was Half Moon Cay. 98% of the island is a bird sanctuary and 2% is run by Carnival Cruise lines. The splendor of God’s majesty is so evident, and that whole day at port was a worship experience for me.

I didn’t bring my camera to Nassau. That’s where I did the souvenir thing. We were on the outskirts of a tropical depression. The wind and waves were the only effects we experienced, but there were some 10ft + waves on shore that day. I wish I had pics but am glad that my camera didn’t get sand-blasted! I never got off the boat at Freeport per the whole not feeling fantastic issue, but I did enjoy a leisurely day in the shade of an umbrella on Serenity deck before I powered through the commencement of our evening fun.

(Yes, even after a week in the Bahamas I’m as white as rice in a glass of milk on a paper plate in a snow storm).

Truth be told, one of my favorite activities on the trip was karaoke. It is something that I would never have been brave enough to do in good ol’ Nashville where the majority of the laypeople are phenomenal musicians who would put the “professionals” employed on the cruise ship to shame.
I hesitate to post these video snippets for fear of embarrassment, but I’m going to let my pride fall down purely for the sake of entertainment factor. I’m just sad that on the last day of the cruise I didn’t bring my camera to karaoke… I had only intended on observing that night because my hand was ticking like crazy (I think partially thanks to the anti-motion sickness patch) and I felt pretty blah and dizzy.  However it’s amazing what a corner full of fun people can motivate a person to do. So I threw caution to the wind and sang “Proud Mary” on my last night on the cruise… complete with a stranger who back-up-danced Tina Turner style for me. Seriously so much fun.

It’s a proven fact that karaoke is more fun with back-up dancers.

Sorry you don’t get to see Proud Mary, but if you are brave enough… or you just want a good laugh… here are some karaoke snippets.

Several extras in this video are from TN. I’m convinced that the majority of our ship was from Tennessee, followed closely behind by Detroit, Kentucky and Georgia.

I came home from this trip feeling truly refreshed. God is so good to me.

3 comments on “Bahama Mama turns 30

  1. joyceandnorm
    October 27, 2012

    Oh my goodness!! How fun!!! I’m glad you got to relax. I’m learning to do that too….not the moment. Hubby out with the girls for classes and I’ve spent the whole 2 hours cleaning. ha! I’m the same way about hanging out with guys…thankful to have great sisters though. At our women’s retreat last Saturday, I was mistaken for a teenager in the youth group. The lady apologized and say, “So sorry, you’re in the college group?” haha! Happy belated birthday!

    • thenewbec
      October 28, 2012

      LOL! It’s good to know I’m not alone 🙂

  2. Jan
    October 27, 2012

    That sounds like the best girlfriend-vacation ever! Congratulations on finding your inner karaoke artist…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
