The NewBec

I'm not who I was.

Walk In It

After having been without one for 3 months, never have I found a kitchen sink to be more glorious.

As a side note just to give you a little peek into how my brain works, there is a reason why I chose this specific faucet over other faucets almost exactly like it: because I like the way it felt secure when I put the spout back to the neck. It had just the right amount of magnetism & “click”, for lack of a better term. I could not handle another faucet after that. The rest just felt either like a weak hand-shake or an over-bearing, unwelcome bear hug. I knew that I would replay how it wasn’t “right” if I would have purchased another faucet. (In fact, I did initially purchase a different faucet and then returned it). Yes, it would bother me that badly.

It’s a funny thing though.  After all of this work and all of this time… after all of the gutting and purging and exposing what lies beneath… after such a huge transformation and getting exactly what I wanted and needed… do  you know that I still find myself walking down the hallway to the little blue-tile bathroom sink with no counter space? I will walk there to wash off grapes or rinse out a bowl. About 3/4 of the way there I will realize my error.  I’m getting used to turning away from the old sink and returning to the right place. And as time goes on, more often I am STARTING in the right place. But sometimes, even after I realize my error, I will just go on to the old sink rather than turn back.  As much as I disliked being bound to that small sink (in the BATHROOM no less… food items and the bathroom should not mix in my humble opinion), I became comfortable with it.

Isn’t that just like our humanity? We revert back to what makes us comfortable even when we have something far superior at our disposal.

(Speaking of disposals, mine is called the inSINKerator, and I find this all kinds of amusing).

Now, this doesn’t mean that my space hadn’t been recreated or that the transformation hadn’t been genuine. It simply means that I didn’t WALK IN IT.

I am absolutely slack-jawed at my counter space. (If God ever calls us to a different home, as superficial as it is, I may just hug my counters before I leave.) It still hasn’t ceased to amaze me how much more abundantly useful space could be fit into the exact same dimensions as before. What’s the key? It is oriented properly.  Oh yes, and we did knock down half of a wall. But even without that, the transformation is amazing.

Oftentimes, it’s the same in our lives. When we learn where to give and where to take, we can ease into our maximum potential. When we have too much of one thing and not enough of another… when we keep things cluttered up or simply put in the wrong place, fulfilling our purpose is exhausting work. Sometimes, the daily grind doesn’t have to be as hard as we make it. If only we would put the hard work in on the front end we could reap the benefits of rest and productivity far greater than our present experience. Once we orient ourselves rightly, it is so refreshing to walk in it.

Still, the space isn’t finished. It’s a work in progress with a purpose. We have several more details to attend to. (Namely: crown molding, toe boards, trim, some touch up paint & work on the knee-wall, & back-splash). Even once the creation is complete, the kitchen will continually require daily maintenance to keep it operating to its full potential.

I’ll let you apply that analogy on your own 😉

I won’t be posting next week, so I’m going to squeeze two blog posts into one.

Family update:

So Cheeks in now OFFICIALLY 2. He is still a baby bobble-head, being in the 21% for height, 12% for weight, and still in the whopping 90% for head circumference. We did gifts from us before church on Sunday. His favorite was his Thomas from his sissy. Per her request it was also the first gift given, and he wouldn’t let go of it while he opened up the others. We were planning on having cake with family this weekend, BUT J has gotten sick so we will have to play it by ear. Making the kids’ cakes is kind of my special “thing” I like to do for them. Fortunately with the kitchen only recently becoming functional, I have only done the “preliminary” work and nothing should go bad if we have to wait. This child may end up with an entire birth-month rather than a birth-day the way our schedule keeps working out.

Don’t let the look fool you, he has a serious shoe fetish.

This picture has nothing to do with anything, other than Cheeks just really likes our friend’s “bus”. 

J just got her first report card of the year and it’s great! At conference I was so blessed with how her teacher spoke of J. I just can’t believe that God blessed me to be the mom of someone so awesome. We are also incredibly blessed that so far in public school we are two for two in J having teachers that love her love for Jesus.

Speaking of numbers, J and her team are doing fantastic in soccer this year, and they are so fun to watch. So far they are 3-0-1. Go Dragons!

4 comments on “Walk In It

  1. joyceandnorm
    October 5, 2012

    Great pics!!

  2. Aimee
    October 5, 2012

    Beautiful post. Thank you for sharing. It’s always eye-opening to me when I catch myself doing the same thing. We become comfortable in our surroundings and circumstances, even if they’re not the beauty that God has created for us to enjoy.

  3. Tom
    October 5, 2012

    How can a dad not be proud of his children and grandchildren when he sees this. Tell J that we love to hear how she is growing in the grace of our Lord Jesus and how she is a practical lesson to us all in how to share Christ.

    Today’s Verse for 10/05/2012

    We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. — 2 Corinthians 10:5

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
